top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRuthie Jo Carpenter

April Update

It's been months and months since my last written update. I've made a few update videos, mostly having to do with the war.


Since the last written update...


I visited home for Christmas. That was really nice! Getting to see my family, going down to Mississippi. It made me realize, as children who leave home are prone to realizing, that I have grown up and apart even more than the last time I was home. It's a strange feeling. Being an adult is strange. There are things I want-- a home, a family-- that I didn't used to want so much. Going back to where I grew up made me realize that a little more.


I came back to Romania in mid-January... that was an adventure. Thirty-nine hours of traveling. It was not my favorite trip, but it was memorable!


Since then, I have been trying to figure out really what I do here. I've settled slowly into a routine of babysitting, leading worship, teaching English, building personal community, and visiting villages. It's all so good! Especially going to the villages!



"Cope-shuh Mar-ay"--a village I got to stay in for a weekend

(There are moments when it is not all so good, like today. I must have gotten up on the wrong side of the bed; but how that can be, I do no know. I always get out of bed on that side; the other side is against the wall. Sometimes being in a new country is hard. But God is here, and He is faithful and good.)


We currently have a DTS outreach team with us for the month of April.


We also currently have war next door. It seems that Ukraine is winning the war, which is good news, of course. There aren't a huge amount of refugees that want to come to Targu Mures, so we don't have as many of them as places like Cluj or Bucharest, which are bigger cities and ones with airports to the West, which is where most of the refugees really want to be (besides being back home in a peaceful Ukraine).


I have gotten to pass out audio Bibles to people in Corbești. It's a great gift from God!



Anyway, that's my update. :)


Bless you guys for your prayer and support of missionaries.


Warmly,

Ruthie Jo


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Excerpt From My Journal, Sunday, November 28, 2021

Here I sit. On a bench in a walking park (playground equipment, too) beneath rustling branches on the cusp of frosty ere-winter. Bright, strange houses surround me, and a fortress church long abando

bottom of page